Bird Portraits

The following photographs were taken over the past couple of weeks.

1 – Red Wattlebird (Anthochaera carunculata)

Red Wattlebird

This is a juvenile Red Wattlebird which was being fed by its parents, but, after the adult birds flew off to hide in the foliage of the trees, it remained to pose for me.

2 – Common Bronzewing (Phaps chalcoptera)

Common Bronzewing

After feeding on the ground, this female Common Bronzewing flew into a tree near my house. It sat motionless for what seemed like an eternity. It actually gave me time to go into the house and get my camera. Light conditions were very poor and to ensure I got the shot I increased the ISO setting to 800.

3 – Little Wattlebird (Anthochaera chrysoptera)

Little Wattlebird

At 27 to 35 centimetres in size, the Little Wattlebird is smaller than the Red Wattlebird, and is easily identified as it has no wattles.

Please Note: All photographs appearing on my blog were taken by me. They are copyrighted and all rights are reserved. If you would like to purchase a print please contact me by leaving a comment below with your order and contact details. I will then get back to you.

Leave a Reply

