A Spotted Turtle-Dove

The following photograph is of a Spotted Turtle-Dove (Streptopelia chinensis). They are a small bird of about 31.5 centimetres. Their voice is a musical “Coo” and Turtle-Doves can be heard and seen in cities and suburban gardens and parks. Spotted Turtle-Doves are also found in the grain growing areas of coastal eastern Australia. The nape and back of the neck is black with white spots.

But, I must share with you my little Granddaughter’s description of the Spotted Turtle-Dove, when she told me why she likes them: “Cause they wear necklaces.”

Spotted Turtle-Dove

Spotted Turtle-Dove: With its necklace.

Please Note: All photographs appearing on my blog were taken by me. They are copyrighted and all rights are reserved. If you would like to purchase a print please contact me by leaving a comment below with your order and contact details. I will then get back to you.

4 thoughts on “A Spotted Turtle-Dove

Leave a Reply

