Sunrise at the Erskine River

The following three photographs were taken at sunrise at one of my favourite locations – the Erskine River. Despite the rain (and my fear that a colourful sunrise would not occur) I believe these images tell the story of a winter sunrise.

 

Dawn - Erskine River

Dawn – Erskine River

For the second image I changed location. Taking up a position on the Old Swing Bridge the picture I had in my mind was a colourful sunrise with the colours reflecting on the water as the river flowed into the sea. I took several images, but as I snapped this one, I knew it would be the one I would publish. This photograph has the colours of the sunrise at its most vibrant.

The vibrant colours of sunrise - Erskine River.

The vibrant colours of sunrise – Erskine River.

The third image was taken when the sun was higher and the vibrant colours of the sunrise had been replaced by a subtle golden glow.

Erskine River - Golden Glow

Erskine River – Golden Glow

TIP: I was once given a very good piece of advice: “Remember – under exposure is your friend.” To obtain the best results in the second and third photograph I set the EV in the camera to -0.7. This little trick works very well for sunrise and sunset images by intensifying the colours.

Please Note: All photographs appearing on my blog were taken by me. They are copyrighted and all rights are reserved. If you would like to purchase a print please contact me by leaving a comment below with your order and contact details. I will then get back to you.

 

Leave a Reply

