Limeburners Point

Yesterday I had an appointment in Geelong, Victoria. On arrival I found I had about an hour to spare, and I decided to take a look at Limeburners Point, a popular fishing and boat launching spot not far out of the CBD.

There were plenty of the usual suspects (Silver Gulls), but then I noticed some Pacific Gulls. They were using the light towers as roosts.

Pacific Gull (Larus pacificus)

Pacific Gull (Larus pacificus)

Pacific Gull

Pacific Gull #2 (Larus pacificus)

I then walked from the car park out onto the breakwater, where I was able to capture the images below.

Little Pied Cormorant (Phalacrocorax melanoleucos)

Little Pied Cormorant (Phalacrocorax melanoleucos)

Silver Gull (Larus novaehollandiae)

Silver Gull (Larus novaehollandiae)

Pacific Gull (Larus pacificus)- Juvenile

Pacific Gull (Larus pacificus)- Juvenile

Pacific Gull

Pacific Gull (Larus pacificus)- Juvenile

On the bay side of the breakwater there were a pair of Great Crested Grebes and a Little Black Cormorant diving in search of food. The Grebes were a bit far out for a good picture but I managed a record shot, which is below.

Great Crested Grebe (Podiceps cristatus)

Great Crested Grebe (Podiceps cristatus)

Little Black Cormorant (Phalacrocorax sulcirostris) - off to a better spot

Little Black Cormorant (Phalacrocorax sulcirostris) – off to a better spot

Then, as I was returning to my car I spotted a pair of Masked Lapwings.

Masked Lapwing

Masked Lapwing (Vanellus miles)

All in all, I feel I had a productive hour.

Please Note: All photographs appearing on my blog were taken by me. They are copyrighted and all rights are reserved. If you would like to purchase a print please contact me by leaving a comment below with your order and contact details. I will then get back to you.

 

Leave a Reply

