Darter

On Tuesday I was fortunate to be able to return to Jawbone Fauna and Flora and  Reserve to observe the birds. I was only able to stay a short time, besides the numbers of birds seemed to be much less than my last visit. However I was able to take a photograph of a female Darter sitting on a rock.

Darter on a Rock

Darter on a Rock

The darter (Anhinga melanogaster) is an Australian native bird found near wetlands and rivers. It has a very long neck and Darters hunt their prey by spearing fish with their pointed bill. They are carnivorous.

The male has an all black body while the female is pale brown with a white stripe along the side of the neck. The body can be up to 90 centimetres long.

Darter

Female Darter – Here it is hanging its wings out to dry!

The darter can often be seen soaring at a great height. They are not considered endangered; but, are moderately common.

Please Note: All photographs appearing on my blog were taken by me. They are copyrighted and all rights are reserved. If you would like to purchase a print please contact me by leaving a comment below with your order and contact details. I will then get back to you.

2 thoughts on “Darter

    • Not really Frank. I consider it a record shot. If there had been time I would have changed position but the bird had become aware of my presence and as soon as I took this shot it flew off. I prefer not to have to do too much in PS. I prefer to go back and get another shot.
      Fred.

Leave a Reply

