Magpie-lark

As a young boy growing up in Queensland, I always knew this bird as a Peewee. This was because of its call pee-wee or pee-o-wit. When I moved to Victoria it was known as a Mudlark, so called, because of its habit of building its nest out of mud.

I have since learned its correct name is: Magpie-lark (Grallina cyanoleuca).

It is a black and white coloured bird with a white bill and eye about 27 centimetres in size. The female has a white face and throat.

This Magpie-lark was seen preening on the banks of the Barongarook Creek.

This Magpie-lark was seen preening on the banks of the Barongarook Creek.

Magpie-lark (Grallina cyanoleuca)

Magpie-lark (Grallina cyanoleuca)

Magpie-lark (Grallina cyanoleuca) - continuing with its preening!

Magpie-lark (Grallina cyanoleuca) – continuing with its preening!

 

For reference I consult the Simpson & Day Field Guide to the Birds of Australia. I have the fifth edition, however I believe there is now a sixth edition.

Please Note: All images appearing on my blog were taken by me. They are copyrighted and all rights are reserved. If you would like to purchase a print please contact me by leaving a comment below with your order and contact details. I will then get back to you.

 

 

Leave a Reply

