The Rosella and the Gumnut

The following images were taken by me a few days ago as I sat on my verandah observing the parrots which were feeding on the seed I had put out.

This is an Immature Juvenile Crimson Rosella (Platycercus elegans) a very common bird in my part of Australia. It is 35 centimetres in size and usually found in moist forests, farmlands and parks.

The first image shows the bird has landed in the tree and spots the gumnuts on the other branch. It then steps out to get them

Juvenile Crimson Rosella

Juvenile Crimson Rosella

The second image shows it getting closer – it makes you wonder how such a thin branch can hold its weight!

Juvenile Crimson Rosella - Getting closer

Juvenile Crimson Rosella – Getting closer!!

Then, it takes the gumnut and gives it the eye!

Giving the gum nut the eye!!

Giving the gum nut the eye!!

Then a little taste!

Having a taste!

Having a taste!

For reference I consult the Simpson & Day Field Guide to the Birds of Australia. I have the fifth edition, however I believe there is now a sixth edition.

Please Note: All images appearing on my blog were taken by me. They are copyrighted and all rights are reserved. If you would like to purchase a print please contact me by leaving a comment below with your order and contact details. I will then get back to you.

2 thoughts on “The Rosella and the Gumnut

Leave a Reply

